Hats

Some of the hats I have made recently…

Audrey

This is my friend Audrey wearing the beret I made for her. She is French and lives in Paris so I thought a beret would be appropriate! Thanks Audrey for the wonderful photo! I think this one was an extra chunky pure Merino wool.

Catriona

This is a beautiful Cashmere baby set  that I knitted for a friend of a friend, can also be made in Merino or Alpaca with either shoes (pictured) or socks.

Simon

This is a lovely Alpaca, Kid Mohair and Silk hat that I made for Simon. It is a simple design with a slip stitch ridge using 2 yarns – Toft Alpaca DK in Steel (natural, undyed), and Rowan Kidsilk Haze in black. The hollow fibre of the Alpaca, combined with the mohair creates a beautifully cosy, warm hat without being too fluffy.

Steyning

This is me in one of my favourite hats. It’s knitted with Adriafil Llama yarn. I love the styling of this design and have made several of them. I’m on The South Downs in these photos, one of my favourite places in the UK and being there always makes me feel really happy.

Bob Dylan

This is a lambswool hat I made from Lamb’s Pride Bulky. I designed it for my friend Bob who works outside a lot doing special effects for television.  Unfortunately it is too small for him but it fits his grandson Dylan very well.

Cocktail Queen

This is a lovely beret knitted in silk yarn. I made it for a girl who works in my local bar and she was very pleased with it. I also have one in alpaca/llama but I prefer this one as the silk shows off the pattern better.

Stefanova

This is my gorgeous slouchy, soft & fluffy hat that I made for me to wear in winter 2010. It’s a mixture of organic merino wool and Kidsilk haze (a mohair and silk blend). I love it! Also see the blue neckwarmer I made for Slovakia trip using Wendy Pampas Super Chunky. I’m wearing my favourite Brora Cardigan in this photo as well, it’s Shetland Lambswool Fairisle and I adore it! It smells of real sheep.

Heartfail

heartfailheartfail2

This is the beautiful Heartfail beret I knitted with Rowan’s gorgeous Kid Classic. The colour is lovely and the design is absolutely exquisite!

Heloise & Audrey Again

(Need to insert photo).

Two more of my button hats, a development of Steyning design. One went to the rather lovely Heloise and the other to Audrey.

The I Never Really Liked You Anyway Hat

unlucky hatunlucky hat1unlucky hat2

The name of this one is self-explanatory. I was going out with Bony Tony at the time so was making this for him but I dumped him when this was about half done. I thought it was a shame to waste all that knitting so I finished it and gave it to Alistair. He seemed to like it, I neglected to tell him the history of the piece.

I guess the hat was cursed, as I got dumped by Alistair the week after I gave it to him. He liked it though. Just didn’t like me. Ah well.

Somerset Date Hat

andyhat  andyhat2

Made this one for my date with Andy driving in the Somerset Countryside. He borrowed it due to his silly car not having a roof and him being cold.

 

More to come, need to sort out photos… watch this space…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hats

  1. Tova berman says:

    Looking for pattern for d’arcy spice beret. Can’t find my copy. Any chance you can share your copy with me. If so please send to crabapple39@aol.com. Thanks, Tova

Leave a Reply

